History


Things are moving in the world of the free reed. In recent years, the accordina has been talked about. Long gone unnoticed, ignored by accordionists, unknown to the general public, this hybrid between accordion and harmonica was born from the imagination of André Borel, towards the end of the 1930s. Today, it is again made and made. object of a curious craze, going against the fatality that has always surrounded its history.

marcel dreux accordinas

The accordina

A strange bridge thrown between the accordion and wind instruments, the accordina today appears to some (perhaps as a fad) as a mythical instrument created for jazz. The story of this little "mouth accordion" - although difficult to reconstruct - yet proves the opposite. Designed by André Borel in the 1930s, the accordina was patented in December 1943. It borrows its free reeds and its chromatic keyboard (44 notes, 3 and a half octaves) from the accordion. It takes from the harmonica the breath produced by the musician and the principle of its two side flaps which allow the sound to be modulated, as the harmonica player does with his hands. It was not until the 1950s to see it manufactured, when Borel created his trading company (dissolved in 1954). In 1950, he gave a radio-broadcast accordina concert, probably with a prototype or one of the very first models. To market his instrument, Borel favored an important partner: the Beuscher establishments, which followed him until the mid-1970s, when production ceased.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.


In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you will need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

A mixed audience


Ingenious and well done, the accordina does not yet meet its audience, contrary to what one might think today. Borel and Beuscher are undoubtedly partly responsible for it, since they present it above all as a "travel accordion", a training instrument. A “gadget”, after all. Second mistake: they target an audience of accordionists, totally excluding the field of the wind instrument. As bizarre as it sounds, this misunderstanding still persists today, as witnessed by Francis Jauvain, saxophonist, accordionist and seasoned "accordinist": "I consider the accordina to be a wind instrument, it is even one of the few. that allow polyphony. Taken as such, it requires a specific technique. For example, it accepts only the blown air, the aspiration must therefore be rhythmic to be integrated into the musical phrase ”. Something hardly conceivable if we consider it as an ersatz accordion. Jauvain continues his research around the accordina, in order to "develop it as one would for a clean, unique instrument". He concludes that there is a vital need for the accordina that it is no longer "confined to accordionists".


A victim of this reception, the accordina left only few traces: we only know as an “old” recording of André Astier's 45 rpm. Today, on the other hand, Richard Galliano, Ludovic Beier, Francis Jauvain, Daniel Mille, Jean-Louis Matinier, Roland Romanelli and even Julien Labro use it to explore many musical universes: jazz, French song (Georges Moustaki, on tour , preferred the Jauvain accordina to the traditional accordion), film scores (Romanelli recorded with the London Symphony Orchestra the soundtrack of Alexandre Arcady's next film), contemporary (Jauvain designed five creations for the choreographer Régine Chapirot , who bring the accordina up on stage in improvised sessions with the dancers).


The different models


During its history, the Borel accordina has taken many forms. The funny thing is that he seems never to have even known the aspect in which his patent presents it: as Laurent Jarry explains, the first factor to have remade it, “the patent of the instrument itself is quite different. what Borel has achieved: the reeds are not intended to be single-frame but they are mounted on plates. A mechanism is provided at the bottom of the instrument to operate the two side flaps by a kind of button ”.

The most important changes to the accordina took place at the end of the 1950s. “From 1959,” Jarry tells us, “what Beuscher calls the“ new 1959 model ”appears. We see changes, especially in the mouthpiece of the instrument. It is no longer a triangular metal part welded to the wind-holder and "split", but a slightly longer spout where a plastic part is integrated. Music also changed, probably during the same period: the brass reeds of the first models were then replaced by others in stainless steel. The accordina has also known other productions, such as the "gold" and "silver" models made by Paolo Soprani probably during the second half of the 1960s. Long remained untraceable, the instrument is now manufactured by Laurent Jarry since 1995 and by Marcel Dreux since 2000. (Blaise Goldenstein)

Histoire


Ça bouge dans le monde de l'anche libre. Depuis quelques années, l'accordina fait parler de lui. Longtemps passé inaperçu, ignoré des accordéonistes, inconnu du grand public, cet hybride entre accordéon et harmonica est né de l'imagination d'André Borel, vers la fin des années 1930. Aujourd'hui, il est à nouveau fabriqué et fait l'objet d'un curieux engouement, allant à l'encontre de la fatalité qui a toujours entouré son histoire.
 

L’accordina

 

Etrange pont jeté entre l’accordéon et les instruments à vent, l’accordina apparaît aujourd’hui à certains (peut-être selon un effet de mode) comme un instrument mythique créé pour le jazz. L’histoire de ce petit « accordéon à bouche » – bien que difficile à reconstituer – nous prouve pourtant le contraire. Imaginé par André Borel dans les années 1930, l’accordina est breveté en décembre 1943. Il emprunte à l’accordéon ses anches libres et son clavier chromatique (44 notes, 3 octaves et demi). Il tient de l’harmonica le souffle produit par le musicien et le principe de ses deux volets latéraux qui permettent de moduler le son, comme le fait l’harmoniciste avec ses mains. Il faut attendre les années 1950 pour le voir fabriqué, au moment où Borel crée sa société commerciale (dissoute en 1954). En 1950, il donne un concert radio-diffusé d’accordina, avec sans doute un prototype ou l’un des tous premiers modèles. Pour commercialiser son instrument, Borel privilégie un partenaire de poids : les établissements Beuscher, qui le suivront jusqu’au milieu des années 1970, période où cesse la fabrication.


Un public mitigé


Ingénieux et bien réalisé, l’accordina ne rencontre pourtant pas son public, contrairement à ce que l’on pourrait croire aujourd’hui. Borel et Beuscher en sont sans doute en partie responsables, puisqu’ils le présentent avant tout comme un « accordéon de voyage », un instrument d’entraînement. Un « gadget », finalement. Deuxième erreur : ils ciblent un public d’accordéonistes, excluant totalement le domaine de l’instrument à vent. Aussi bizarre que cela paraisse, ce malentendu persiste encore aujourd’hui, comme en témoigne Francis Jauvain, saxophoniste, accordéoniste et « accordiniste » chevronné :  « Je considère l’accordina comme un instrument à vent, c’est même l’un des rares qui permettent la polyphonie. Pris comme tel, il requiert une technique spécifique. Par exemple, il n’accepte que l’air soufflé, l’aspiration doit donc être rythmique pour s’intégrer à la phrase musicale ». Une chose difficilement concevable si on l’envisage comme un ersatz d’accordéon. Jauvain poursuit sa recherche autour de l’accordina, afin de « le développer comme on le ferait pour un instrument propre, unique » . Il conclut qu’il y a un besoin vital pour l’accordina qu’il ne soit plus « cantonné aux accordéonistes ».


Victime de cette réception, l’accordina n’a laissé que peu de traces : on ne lui connaÎt comme enregistrement « ancien » que le 45 tours de André Astier. Aujourd’hui, par contre, Richard Galliano, Ludovic Beier, Francis Jauvain, Daniel Mille, Jean-Louis Matinier, Roland Romanelli ou encore Julien Labro l’emploient pour explorer de nombreux univers musicaux : jazz, chanson française (Georges Moustaki, en tournée, a préféré l’accordina de Jauvain au traditionnel accordéon), musiques de films (Romanelli a enregistré avec l’Orchestre Symphonique de Londres la B.O. du prochain film d’Alexandre Arcady), contemporain (Jauvain a conçu pour la chorégraphe Régine Chapirot cinq créations, qui font monter l’accordina sur scène dans des sessions improvisées avec les danseurs).
 


Les différents modèles


Au cours de son histoire, l’accordina Borel a connu plusieurs formes. Le plus drôle est qu’il semble même n’avoir jamais connu l’aspect sous lequel son brevet le présente : comme l’explique Laurent Jarry, premier facteur à l’avoir refabriqué, «  le brevet de l’instrument même est assez différent de ce que Borel a réalisé : les anches ne sont pas prévues pour être mono-chassis mais elles sont montées sur des plaques. Un mécanisme est prévu en bas de l’instrument pour actionner les deux volets latéraux par une sorte de bouton ».

Les plus importantes évolutions que subit l’accordina surviennent à la fin des années 1950.  « A partir de 1959, raconte Jarry, apparaît, ce que Beuscher appelle le "nouveau modèle 1959". On y voit des changements, notamment dans le bec de l’instrument. Ce n’est plus une pièce métallique triangulaire soudée sur le porte-vent et "fendue", mais un bec un peu plus long où vient s’intégrer une pièce en plastique. » Les musiques changent aussi, probablement dans la même période : les anches laiton des premiers modèles sont alors remplacées par d’autres en  acier inox. L’accordina a aussi connu d’autres fabrications, comme les modèles « or » et « argent » réalisés par Paolo Soprani sans doute durant la deuxième moitié des années 1960. Longtemps resté introuvable, l’instrument est aujourd’hui fabriqué par Laurent Jarry depuis 1995 et par Marcel Dreux depuis 2000. (Blaise Goldenstein)

marcel dreux accordinas